Life isn’t fair! (Ezekiel 18:29)

Today’s Readings: Ezekiel 18-19; John 12

Yet the people of Israel continue to complain, “The lord’s way is not fair al all!” You think My way is unfair, people of Israel? Don’t you think you are the ones with perverted ways?

“It isn’t fair!” How many times have your kids said those words? Particularly when my kids were in their early teens I must have heard it at least once a day. “My friends don’t have to do that. It isn’t fair.” “My friends get to go. It isn’t fair.” “Everybody else can. It isn’t fair.”

I remember as a kid I thought a spanking was part of going to church. Every Sunday, my brother and I sat on the front row as my dad preached. Inevitably, my brother would pinch me or punch me or tell me a joke or something to make me utter some kind of noise in the middle of the sermon. I can still hear the snap of dad’s fingers from the pulpit. The snap meant straighten up — now! It also meant I could expect a spanking. My brother was in his forties before he owned up to provoking me. Life’s not fair.

notfair.001If I had a dollar for every time I heard one of them utter those words, I could retire and live a life of luxury. But I tried hard to act as a responsible parent and set boundaries for my kids to teach them my value system according to the rules present in God’s word. I wanted to instill in them habits that would serve them well in a society that as a whole doesn’t have a very good work ethic, respect for authority, or grasp of who God is. I wanted them to more than survive in the world, I wanted them to enjoy life. That happens, not because of money or position, but because of personal character.

Is life fair? No. Is the world’s system of justice fair? Not often. Is the world’s outlook and definition for success and failure fair? No. Is the world’s system for rewards and punishments fair? No. Are businesses fair? Not always. Are your co-workers fair? Maybe. Life isn’t fair. God never said it was. But He is. When all is said and done, we will find that He is fair. Life isn’t. Things happen that just aren’t fair. Promotions, recognition, awards, punishments, disease, cancer, death — they all come at us. Sometimes we know why, sometimes we don’t. Life’s not fair. But God is. We can count on His justice. And we can count on His grace!

I’m not sure why things happen the way they do except that we live in a world scarred by sin since the day Eve and Adam disobeyed God. Ever since that fateful day, life has not been fair because of the curse man caused and perpetuates across the globe. You think we’re different than Israel? Look at the content of our “family friendly” television. They are filled with sexual innuendoes, violence, language we should not use, situations our children should not see. Yet these are “family friendly.” Our theaters fill the screens with trash. Our kids spend hours playing violent, sexually suggestive video games. The generation described as “The Greatest Generation” would turn over in their graves if they saw today’s debauchery.

Is life fair? No. But we can trust God to never leave us, give us grace and hope for a future where justice and fairness will prevail.

Join me next time, won’t you?

Richard

 

Leave a comment